Skip to content


Heimo Zobernig, Untitled

Heimo Zobernig



Acrylic on canvas

78 3/4 x 78 3/4 x 1 3/4 inches

200 x 200 x 4.5 cm

Signed and dated verso

Heimo Zobernig -  - Viewing Room - Petzel Gallery

Maximilian Pramatarov/Collectors Agenda.

Heimo Zobernig (b. 1958, Mauthen, Austria) lives and works in Vienna. He studied at the Academy of Fine Arts, and later at the University of Applied Arts, both in Vienna. After two visiting professorships in Germany, he has been teaching at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna since 1999. He was the recipient of the Otto Mauer Prize in 1993, followed in 1997 by the City of Vienna’s Prize for Fine Art.

Zobernig has mined various art historical moments and movements, specifically Modernism, post-Modernism, Geometric Abstraction and Minimalism, with a rigorous and interrogatory spirit. His often playful approach also includes a keen and abiding affinity with modes of display, set design and theatricality.

The artist has had numerous international exhibitions, among them the forthcoming Museum Ludwig, Cologne (2020); Heimo Zobernig: Chess Painting, MIT List Visual Arts Center, Cambridge, MA (2017); Heimo Zobernig, Sammlung Grässlin, Kunstraum, St. Georgen (2016); Malmö Konsthall, Malmö (2016) Museum Ludwig, Cologne (2016); La Biennale di Venezia (2015); MUDAM, Luxembourg (2014); Documenta 9 and X in Kassel, solo shows at the Kunsthaus Graz (2013); Palacio de Veláquez, Museo Reina Sofia, Madrid (2012); Kunsthalle Zurich (2011); Pestorius Sweeney House, Brisbane, Australia (2011); Sammlung Essl, Klosterneuburg (2011); the Gulbenkian Foundation, Lisbon (2009); Musée d’art contemporain, Bordeaux (2009); MAK, Vienna (2008); the Kunsthalle Basel (2003); the K21, Düsseldorf (2003); Museum of Modern Art, Vienna (2002); and his work has been featured in group exhibitions at the Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, Stuttgart (2012); the Kunstmuseum Basel, Basel (2012); Centre Pompidou, Paris (2009); Tate St Ives, Cornwall (2008); and Galleria Civica di Modena (2008).

In 2016 Heimo Zobernig was the winner of the Roswitha Haftmann Prize, and in 2010 he was the winner of the Frederick Kiesler Prize for Art and Architecture in Vienna.